Text Resize
Print This
Email This
Request Illustration
Download Brochure

Charitable Bequest

Charitable Bequest

Meet Stanley Blum

92-year-old Stanley Blum is creating his Jewish legacy every day and is having the time of his life doing it.

On any given day during the Campaign for Jewish Needs, you can find Stanley Blum at the Federation's Mandel Building calling prospective donors. Other days, he can be found volunteering at a food bank or at his synagogue. In the spirit of tikkun olam, Stanley is actively involved in his community. Through thoughtful estate planning, his involvement will continue beyond his years.

Stanley first moved to Cleveland in 1970 with his beloved wife Betty (z"l). The happy couple enjoyed being part of a vibrant Jewish community. When local worthy charities asked for support, the Blums responded generously, giving back to the community they loved.

When Betty sadly passed away in 2012, Stanley began to think seriously about what their legacy would be and how they would leave their mark in the Jewish community beyond both of their lifetimes.

Stanley continued to support many charities with annual gifts, while consulting confidentially with the development professionals at the Jewish Federation of Cleveland and his attorney about what the future could hold. He learned he could make larger, more impactful gifts to the charities closest to him with retirement assets. In addition to the joy he gets from leaving a legacy, this designation will save his heirs from income tax obligations.

"I have discussed my plans with my children and they are thrilled with the deep satisfaction I'm feeling from helping our community beyond my lifetime," said Stanley.

Using retirement assets to fund a charitable gift is easy. It does not require an attorney to change or add a beneficiary. So, just like a spouse or children can be beneficiaries of an Individual Retirement Account (IRA) or 401K, an organization can also be designated as a beneficiary. A specific amount or percentage of retirement assets can be designated for a charity, helping a favorite charitable organization thrive for years to come.

Unfortunately, most donors do not inform charities of their intentions, which deprives the charity of the opportunity to show appreciation or recognize the donor's generosity. By informing his beloved charities of his intended bequests, Stanley allowed the Federation to thank him now and ensure his wishes are known.

Stanley and donors like him give L'dor V'dor special meaning. When the time comes (hopefully not for many years) we will think of Stanley and smile with gratitude.

More info about Charitable Bequests
Print This
Email This
Request Illustration
Download Brochure
scriptsknown

Contact Us

Steve Hoffman 216-593-2900 shoffman@jcfcleve.org
Hedy Milgrom 216-593-2850 hmilgrom@jcfcleve.org
Carol Wolf 216-593-2805 cwolf@jcfcleve.org
Ann Garson 216-593-2814 agarson@jcfcleve.org
Matthew Kaliff 216-593-2831 mkaliff@jcfcleve.org
Janet Shapiro 216-593-2875 jshapiro@jcfcleve.org
Jennifer Schwarz 216-593-2816 jschwarz@jcfcleve.org
Michael Cole 216-593-2795 mcole@jcfcleve.org
Lisa Hacker 216-593-2792 Lhacker@jcfcleve.org
Jessie Bruder 216-593-2869 jbruder@jcfcleve.org

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

© 2018 Crescendo Interactive, Inc. PRIVACY STATEMENT
This site is informational and educational in nature. It is not offering professional tax, legal, or accounting advice.
For specific advice about the effect of any planning concept on your tax or financial situation or with your estate, please consult a qualified professional advisor.