» Ways to Give » 
Text Resize
Print
Email
Subsribe to RSS Feed

Wednesday January 16, 2019

Washington News

Washington Hotline

IRS Will Pay Tax Refunds During Shutdown

In IR-2019-1, the Service stated it would open the tax-filing season on January 28, 2019. With the continuing government shutdown, many CPAs and tax preparers were concerned that the IRS might delay the processing of 2018 income tax returns. If tax return processing does not begin by January 28, tax refunds could be delayed. The average tax refund for 2017 was $2,763.

IRS Commissioner Chuck Rettig pledged to process returns and issue refunds even if the shutdown continues. He stated, "We are committed to ensuring that taxpayers receive their refunds notwithstanding the government shutdown. I appreciate the hard work of the employees and their commitment to the taxpayers during this period."

While the federal government is technically shut down, essential services are maintained by specific acts of Congress. The Office of Management and Budget (OMB) has stated that the IRS power to pay tax refunds is covered by these Congressional provisions.

The IRS has asked some of its 80,000 employees to return to work. Commissioner Rettig noted, "IRS employees have been hard at work the past year to implement the biggest tax law changes the nation has seen in more than 30 years."

The tax return filing period for 48 states will be from January 28, 2019 to April 15, 2019. Because Maine and Massachusetts celebrate Patriots' Day on April 15 and Washington, DC, observes Emancipation Day on April 16, residents of those two states may file on or before April 17, 2019.

Published January 11, 2019
Print
Email
Subsribe to RSS Feed

Previous Articles

IRS Top Tax Scams

Preparing for Filing Your 2018 Tax Returns

IRS Publishes 2019 Business, Moving, Medical and Charitable Mileage Rates

Required IRA Distributions by December 31

Protect Your Identity During the Holidays

scriptsknown

Contact Us

Erika B. Rudin-Luria 216-593-2867 erudin-luria@jcfcleve.org
Carol Wolf 216-593-2805 cwolf@jcfcleve.org
Ann Garson 216-593-2814 agarson@jcfcleve.org
Matthew Kaliff 216-593-2831 mkaliff@jcfcleve.org
Hedy Milgrom 216-593-2850 hmilgrom@jcfcleve.org
Janet Shapiro 216-593-2875 jshapiro@jcfcleve.org
Jennifer Schwarz 216-593-2816 jschwarz@jcfcleve.org
Michael Cole 216-593-2795 mcole@jcfcleve.org
Lisa Hacker 216-593-2792 Lhacker@jcfcleve.org
Jessie Bruder 216-593-2869 jbruder@jcfcleve.org

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

© 2019 Crescendo Interactive, Inc. PRIVACY STATEMENT
This site is informational and educational in nature. It is not offering professional tax, legal, or accounting advice.
For specific advice about the effect of any planning concept on your tax or financial situation or with your estate, please consult a qualified professional advisor.