» Ways to Give » 
Text Resize
Print
Email
Subsribe to RSS Feed

Sunday June 16, 2019

Washington News

Washington Hotline

IRS Reminds Employers and Business Owners of Upcoming Filing Deadline

In IR-2018-231, the Service reminded employers and business owners that January 31 is still the deadline to file wage statements and independent contractor forms. The Service also provided pointers to help filers ensure that these forms are filed accurately and on time.

Forms that must be filed with the Social Security Administration due by January 31 include Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, and Form W-3, Transmittal of Wage and Tax Statements. In addition, forms to report non-employee compensation to independent contractors are also due by January 31. This includes Form 1099-MISC, Miscellaneous Income (payments to non-employees are reported in box seven of this form).

While paper forms are available, the easiest, quickest and most accurate way to file these forms is to use the IRS's e-file system. If employers plan to file paper Forms W-2, then they should order the forms early. Automatic extensions of time to file Forms W-2 are not available and extensions will only be granted for very specific reasons.

Providing this information by January 31 enables the IRS to verify the amount of income that individuals report on their tax returns and helps prevent fraud. As such, it is important that employers carefully review the forms for accuracy.

Employers should check to make sure that their employees' names, addresses and Social Security or individual taxpayer identification numbers are accurate. In addition, the employer should verify that his or her company's account information on file with the Social Security Administration is current and active.

For more information visit IRS.gov and review the instructions for Forms W-2 and W-3 on the "Forms & Instructions" page.

Published November 30, 2018
Print
Email
Subsribe to RSS Feed

Previous Articles

Pay Medical Bills with Your 2019 Flexible Spending Arrangement

California Wildfire Disaster Relief

Increased Child Tax Credit for 2018

IRA and 401(k) Contributions in 2019

Your Social Security and Medicare Value

scriptsknown

Contact Us

Erika B. Rudin-Luria 216-593-2867 erudin-luria@jcfcleve.org
Carol Wolf 216-593-2805 cwolf@jcfcleve.org
Ann Garson 216-593-2814 agarson@jcfcleve.org
Matthew Kaliff 216-593-2831 mkaliff@jcfcleve.org
Hedy Milgrom 216-593-2850 hmilgrom@jcfcleve.org
Janet Shapiro 216-593-2875 jshapiro@jcfcleve.org
Jennifer Schwarz 216-593-2816 jschwarz@jcfcleve.org
Michael Cole 216-593-2795 mcole@jcfcleve.org
Lisa Hacker 216-593-2792 Lhacker@jcfcleve.org
Jessie Bruder 216-593-2869 jbruder@jcfcleve.org

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

© 2019 Crescendo Interactive, Inc. PRIVACY STATEMENT
This site is informational and educational in nature. It is not offering professional tax, legal, or accounting advice.
For specific advice about the effect of any planning concept on your tax or financial situation or with your estate, please consult a qualified professional advisor.