» Ways to Give » 
Text Resize
Print
Email
Subsribe to RSS Feed

Friday January 27, 2023

Washington News

Washington Hotline

Back-To-School Teacher Deduction

As teachers and students prepare to return to school this fall, the Internal Revenue Service reminded educators of the increased expense deduction available in 2022. In IR-2022-148, the IRS noted, "As the new school year begins, the Internal Revenue Service reminds teachers and other educators that they will be able to deduct up to $300 of out-of-pocket classroom expenses for 2022 when they file their federal income tax return next year."

The educator expense deduction had been $250 for tax years from 2002 through 2021. However, it is now going to increase in $50 increments based on inflation. As a result, an educator in 2022 may deduct up to $300 of qualifying expenses. If two educators are married, the potential joint return deduction is up to $600. The educator deduction is available for kindergarten through grade 12 teachers, counselors, principals or school aides who work at least 900 hours during the school year.

The $300 deduction may include books, supplies and classroom materials. Equipment such as computers and software or COVID–19 protective items are also deductible.

In some cases, a teacher may apply the $300 deduction towards a professional development course. However, the IRS notes that other educational tax benefits, such as the Lifetime Learning Credit, may provide greater benefit to the teacher.

There are some items that are not permitted as deductions. The cost of home schooling and nonathletic supplies for courses in health or physical education are not deductible. The IRS reminds educators to keep good records. The deduction should be supported by a receipt, canceled check or other documentation.

Published August 12, 2022
Print
Email
Subsribe to RSS Feed

Previous Articles

Helping Nonprofits Respond to Natural Disasters

Avoiding Scammers Who Claim They Are IRS Agents

Inflation Protection for Tax Benefits

Federal Trade Commission Webinar on Scams and Identity Theft

Should The Charitable Mileage Rate Be Increased?

scriptsknown

Contact Us

Erika B. Rudin-Luria 216-593-2867 erudin-luria@jcfcleve.org
Rachel Lappen 216-593-2841 rlappen@jcfcleve.org
Carol Wolf 216-593-2805 cwolf@jcfcleve.org
Ann Garson 216-593-2814 agarson@jcfcleve.org
Matthew Kaliff 216-593-2831 mkaliff@jcfcleve.org
Hedy Milgrom 216-593-2850 hmilgrom@jcfcleve.org
Rebecca Sattin 216-593-2873 rsattin@jcfcleve.org
Jennifer Schwarz 216-593-2816 jschwarz@jcfcleve.org

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

© 2022 Crescendo Interactive, Inc. PRIVACY STATEMENT
This site is informational and educational in nature. It is not offering professional tax, legal, or accounting advice.
For specific advice about the effect of any planning concept on your tax or financial situation or with your estate, please consult a qualified professional advisor.